It was originally introduced last October

If allowed via admin controls, people can participate in discussions as visitors without joining the group
Facebook

By David Cohen

33 mins ago

The public groups experience initially revealed by Facebook last October will be rolled out to all public groups in the coming months, and group administrators can choose to switch their groups over to the new experience, although once this is done, the decision cannot be reversed.